Key Stage 3

Pupils in KS3 have one lesson of Computing & IT a week and follow a challenging and exciting curriculum, which covers:

Computer Science – student are taught how computer and computer systems work, how they are designed and programmed and how to apply computational thinking.

Information Technology – How computers affect society, how to use software to manipulate information and how to evaluate work in order to make improvements.

Digital Literacy – E-Safety, searching the Internet and Email.

Key Stage 4

In Year 10, students can choose to follow either the OCR GCSE Computing course or the Level 2 OCR Cambridge Nationals course in Information Communication Technology, which is equivalent to one GCSE.

The OCR GCSE Computing course gives students a real, in-depth understanding of how computer technology works including computer programming.
The course consists of three units: a written exam on Computer systems and programming; a practical investigation and a programming controlled assessment project.

The Level 2 OCR Cambridge Nationals course in Information Communication Technology has been developed to recognise learners’ skills, knowledge and understanding of Information and Communication Technology functions, environments and operations.

This course comprises four units. One unit is a written exam on ICT theory and systems, the second unit is a based on the practical use of Office programs and is assessed through a series of controlled assessment. The final two units are assessed through coursework, on the topics of web design and computer programming.

Samantha Pascoe
2nd in Technology Faculty
.(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)